National Centre for Promotion of Employment for Disabled People

National Centre for Promotion of Employment for Disabled People (NCPEDP) constituted the National Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (NCRPD) in 2008. NCRPD is a Committee of 20-25 key leaders and experts from the Indian disability movement. It was set up to work like a think tank and an idea centre to mainstream disability issues and develop advocacy campaigns.
NCRPD Members during a meeting in 2014

The committee developed from the idea that the role of disability activists does not stop at just lobbying but also to be watchdogs of the nodal agencies working for people with disability. With India ratifying the UNCRPD in 2007, the formation of the National Committee is to look into which areas are neglected and which need to be worked on, to mainstream disability into the national agenda.

Over the past few years, NCRPD has not only come up with path-breaking ideas but also led to advocacy campaigns that saw those ideas materialise into tangibles. 

For instance, the idea of a new disability rights law was floated by NCRPD in early 2009, which led to the Government forming a Committee to draft the new law. Another example is the recently passed National Policy on Universal Electronics Accessibility. NCRPD not only floated the idea but also played a huge role in the drafting of this policy.


Recently, the main focus of NCRPD has been largely on accessibility among other disability related issues. The following 5 key ministries have been advocated with for ensuring policy change or effective implementation of a policy with respect to improving accessibility of persons with disabilities:

  1. Ministry of Railways
  2. Ministry of Communication & Information Technology
  3. Ministry of Information & Broadcasting
  4. Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
  5. Ministry of Urban Development

Following are the current members of the National Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

  1. A. S. Narayanan General Secretary National Association of the Deaf, New Delhi
  2. Abdul Mabood Director SNEHI, New Delhi
  3. Amarjit Singh Anand President Chaanan Association for M.R., Punjab
  4. Ankit Rajiv Jindal Co-Founder Diversity and Equal Opportunity Centre, Karnataka
  5. Anuj Jain Project Director National Association of the Deaf, New Delhi
  6. Arman Ali Executive Director Shishu Sarothi, Assam
  7. Avelino de Sa President Disability Rights Association of Goa, Goa
  8. Dr. Kshama Metre National Director, CORD Chinmaya Tapovan Trust, Himachal Pradesh
  9. Diethono Nakhro Disability Rights Activist Nagaland
  10. G. Syamala Executive Director AADI – Action for Ability Development and Inclusion, New Delhi
  11. Garimella Subramaniam Deputy Editor The Hindu, Tamil Nadu
  12. General Ian Cardozo Vice President War Wounded Foundation, New Delhi
  13. Geeta Chaturvedi Director of Programming and Research Development VISHWAS (Vision for Health Welfare And Special Needs), Haryana
  14. Javed Ahmad Tak Honorary Chairman Humanity Welfare Organisation – Helpline, Jammu & Kashmir
  15. Kanchan Pamnani Advocate & Solicitor Mumbai High Court, Maharashtra
  16. Ketan Kothari Manager-Advocacy Sightsavers India, Maharashtra
  17. Ketna Mehta Founder Nina Foundation, Maharashtra
  18. M. Srinivasulu President Network of the Persons with Disability Organisation, Telangana
  19. Meenu Bhambhani VP & Head – Corporate Social Responsibility Mphasis Ltd., Karnataka
  20. Mohit Singla Independent Consultant Uttar Pradesh
  1. Mridu Goel Chairperson Handicare, Uttar Pradesh
  2. Neha Arora Founder Planet Abled, New Delhi
  3. Nidhi Goyal Gender and Disability Rights Advocate Maharashtra
  4. Nita Panchal Secretary Disability Advocacy Group, Gujarat
  5. Paul Ramanathan Managing Trustee/CEO, Sama Foundation, Karnataka
  6. Pradeep Raj General Secretary Association for Disabled People, New Delhi
  7. Rama Chari Founder Diversity and Equal Opportunity Centre, Karnataka
  8. Rupmani Chettri Programme Associate HAQ : Centre for Child Rights, New Delhi
  9. Sachin Singh Teacher Dr. Shakuntala Misra National Rehabilitation University, Uttar Pradesh
  10. Sakshi Broota Co-Founder Diversity and Equal Opportunity Centre (DEOC), Haryana
  11. Sapam Jasowanta Singh Secretary General Handicapped Development Foundation, Manipur
  12. Shanti Auluck Founder President Muskaan, New Delhi
  13. Sruti Mohapatra General Secretary Swabhimaan, Odisha
  14. Shilpi Kapoor Founder Barrier Break, Maharashtra
  15. Suvarna Raj International Para Athlete Association for Disabled People, New Delhi
  16. Tulika Das Secretary Sanchar, West Bengal
  17. Ummul Kher Student Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
  18. V. Narsappa President Association of People Affected by Leprosy, Telangana
  19. Vandana Bedi Consultant, Disability & Development, New Delhi
  20. Zorin Singha President National Association of the Deaf, Uttar Pradesh